Bart Moore-Gilbert

Bart Moore-Gilbert is Professor of Postcolonial Studies and English at Goldsmiths, University of London. He is the author of Postcolonial Theory: Contexts, Practices and Politics, Kipling and “Orientalism”, and editor of Literature and Imperialism, Cultural Revolution? The Challenge of the Arts in the 1960s, The Arts in the 1970s: Cultural Closure?, Writing India: British Representations of India 1857-1990 and Postcolonial Theory: A Reader.


  • Bart Moore-Gilbert: 1952-2015

    It is with great sadness that we heard the news of the death of Bart Moore-Gilbert on December 2nd, 2015. He died, aged 63 years old, at Trinity Hospice, Clapham Common, after a year’s struggle with kidney cancer. He died only a few days after the birth of his second child, Luke, and is survived by his wife, Anna and daughter, Maddy.

    Continue Reading

  • Bart Moore-Gilbert has been shortlisted for the 2015 PEN Ackerley Prize!

    We are delighted to announce that Bart Moore-Gilbert has been shortlisted for the 2015 PEN Ackerley Prize for The Setting Sun: A Memoir of Empire and Family Secrets.

    The critically acclaimed literary memoir about a son's quest for the truth behind his father's colonial past has garnered huge critical acclaim since its release in April 2014, with the Times Higher Education Supplement praising its hybrid of "documentary approach" and "emotional quest".  

    The full shortlist of titles for the 2015 PEN Ackerley Prize for memoir and life writing are:

    Patrick McGuinness, Other People's Countries: A Journey into Memory (Jonathan Cape)

    Henry Marsh, Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death and Brain Surgery (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

    Jonathan Meades, Encyclopaedia of Myself (4th Estate)

    Bart Moore-Gilbert, The Setting Sun: A Memoir of Empire and Family Secrets (Verso)

    The PEN Ackerley prize was established in memory of Joe Randolph Ackerley (1896-1967), the author and long-time literary editor of The Listener magazine. The prize is awarded annually to a literary autobiography of outstanding merit, written by an author of British nationality and published in the UK in the previous year. The PEN Ackerley prize is judged by biographer and historian Peter Parker (chair), writer and painter Colin Spencer, author Georgina Hammick and historian and biographer Richard Davenport-Hines.  The winner receives a cheque for £2,500.

    The winner will be announced on Monday 29 June at the English PEN Summer Party.

  • Verso Beach Reads

    Not sure which radical books to bring with you to the beach this summer? We've come up with an eclectic mix of surrealist fiction, anti-heroic memoir, dazzling investigative reporting, and, as always, revolutionary reads for your time in the sun. Like John Grisham, but not actually bad for your soul, they'll keep you engrossed, entertained, and enlightened til the fall.

    Plus, all books on this list will be 50% off on our website for this week (June 23-30), with free shipping, as usual, and free ebook where available (but no e-readers in the pool plz).

    Continue Reading