Reading List

Verso Gift Guide

Unnamed-10-

Be inspired this year with our gift guide! Share, with your loved ones, radical and visionary thinking that interrogates existing ideas, and re-imagines a different kind of world.

Don't forget, we have bundled ebooks with every print purchase (where available) — meaning you can gift the print book (if you want to) and start reading the ebook straight away!

We have 40% off ALL our books until January 4th (see full details here)! See all our reading guides here.

Our bestselling diary is back! This is the perfect gift for the radical in your life: a beautifully designed week-to-view planner, packed full of significant dates in radical history, touching on the lives of people like Rosa Luxemburg and Angela Davis. And, for 2022, with a new cover design based on our best-selling new edition of Adorno's Minima Moralia!

To accompany our Radical Diary, we have this beautiful Verso notebook. Inspired by the original covers of New Left Books, this notebook is fully lined in signature Verso red and based on our bestselling Critique of Everyday Life by Henri Lefebvre. Perfect for any hard-core Verso (or theory) fans!

In this elegant tour-de-force, Katherine Angel challenges our assumptions about women’s desire. Why, she asks, should they be expected to know their desires? And how do we take sexual violence seriously, when not knowing what we want is key to both eroticism and personhood?

This beautifully-designed book is the ideal literary stocking filler for readers of Olivia Laing, Maggie Nelson, Susan Sontag, and Amia Srinivasan.

In this powerful manifesto, Andreas Malm makes an impassioned call for the climate movement to escalate its tactics in the face of ecological collapse. We need, in short, to start blowing up some oil pipelines.

For the person in your life who is absolutely fed up with hearing the words "net zero", or needs shaking out of their belief that our governments will lead us out of this climate crisis.

See more book suggestions in COP26: a radical climate reading list

* PLEASE NOTE: THIS BOOK IS NOT PUBLISHED BY VERSO IN NORTH AMERICA

There is no doubt about it, we need to abolish the police — a powerful statement that many struggle to understand in practical terms. This incredible memoir is the book to take someone through that process, starting with ideas around reform, before taking the reader on a compelling journey of political awakening around abolition. 

This is a book that will inspire readers to see abolition through a new lens.

See more in Abolition is the only solution: a reading list for breaking police power

This book is the first English-language publication of the work of Izumi Suzuki, a legend of Japanese science fiction and a countercultural icon. In the title story, the tyranny of enforced screen-time and the mechanisation of labour foster a cold-hearted and ultimately tragic disaffection among the youth of Tokyo. In another story, we see a future where men are contained in ghettoised isolation and women enjoy the fruits of a queer matriarchal utopia. These are dark, playful and punky stories, perfect for readers that love Ursula K. Le Guin and Jenny Hval.

In this brilliant history of a dangerous idea, Stuart Jeffries tells a narrative that starts in the early 1970s and still dominates our lives today, encountering David Bowie, the iPod, Madonna, Judith Butler, Margaret Thatcher, Grand Master Flash, I Love Dick, and Jean Baudrillard along the way. A riotous cultural and philosophical survey of the last 50 years, where popular culture meets the insidious dark spread of neoliberalism.

Behind the search engines, apps and smart devices stand workers, often banished to the margins of our global system, who clean data and oversee algorithms for little more than a few cents. It is this badly paid, psychically damaging work – not algorithms – that make our digital lives legible.

This dynamic and brilliant new book tells the brutal truth behind our automated futures, digitized capitalism, and the new world of work. Perfect for anyone who wants to understand how our digital lives and working worlds converge, as well as what might lie ahead.

See more suggestions in our I Do Not Dream of Labour: books that imagine a different working world reading list.

No human has ever gone farther into space than the Moon, a grain of sand about 5.5 inches away from our tiny pea gravel Earth. Are other worlds really possible?

This is a fascinating radical history of space exploration, from the Russian Cosmists of the 1890s to the technology billionaires who want to colonise space for their own wealth! It was also picked up this week by the Financial Times as one of their best books of the year.

If police are the problem, what’s the solution? A World without Police offers concrete strategies for confronting and breaking police power, as a first step toward building community alternatives that make the police obsolete. Read, share, act; defund, disarm, abolish.

See more in Abolition is the only solution: a reading list for breaking police power

How has Amazon changed fiction? This is the perfect book for anyone interested in fiction, the internet, and how algorithms have led to a major cultural shift in history.

With the verve and bite of Ottessa Moshfegh and the barbed charm of Nancy Mitford, Marlowe Granados’s stunning debut brilliantly captures a summer of striving in New York City. For those who like a martini with their reading!

Another major publication for us this year, Planet on Fire is a radical manifesto for how to deal with environmental breakdown. This book specifically argues for a fundemental reimagining of our global economy: the perfect read for someone looking for a solution to the climate crisis underpinned by widespread systemic change.

See more book suggestions in COP26: a radical climate reading list

A personal history of life, love and women’s liberation, this stunning memoir is ideal for anyone who loves socialist and feminist history!

Calling all Derrida fans! Philosopher, film star, father of “post truth”—this book tells the real story of Jacques Derrida.

An alternative vision of the feminist city. Taking on fear, motherhood, friendship, activism, and the joys and perils of being alone, Kern maps the city from new vantage points, laying out an intersectional feminist approach to our urban spaces. A truly transformative book!

A fascinating cultural history of this most magical of islands.

A classic collection of Walter Benjamin’s celebrated essays, now is this new edition.

We are in the midst of a global crisis of care. How do we get out of it? Looking at care from a truly transformative perspective, this slim book packs a huge punch and is vital reading.

Approaching mutual aid from a dynamic, activist perspective: why it is so important, what it looks like, and how to do it. The perfect gift for anyone interested in reorganising how we think about each other and our communities.

With race and the police once more burning issues, this classic work from Angela Davis has lost none of its prescience or power. A must-read for anyone who loves powerful writing around race, carceral abolition, and resistance.

See more in Abolition is the only solution: a reading list for breaking police power

The 900-page book that every theory fan should have! Lefebvre's classic analysis of daily life under capitalism is one of our bestsellers, year after year. And, what a cover design!

A brilliant, stringently argued pamphlet reflecting on capitalism’s death drive, the left’s complicated entanglements with fossil fuels, and the rising tide of fascism. The Tragedy of the Worker demands an alternative future—the Proletarocene—one capable of repairing the ravages of capitalism and restoring the world. 

See more book suggestions in COP26: a radical climate reading list

The occupation of Afghanistan is over, and a balance sheet can be drawn. These essays on war and peace in the region reveal Tariq Ali at his sharpest and most prescient.

Speaking from a growing global sex worker rights movement, and situating their argument firmly within wider questions of migration, work, feminism, and resistance to white supremacy, the book makes clear that anyone committed to working towards justice and freedom should be in support of the sex worker rights movement.

A truly unmissable book for anyone looking to that their political and feminist understanding to new levels. 

An unprecedented collection of feminist voices from four millennia of global history, this is the ideal gift for anyone interested in feminist history.

The manifesto—raging and wanting, quarreling and provoking—has always played a central role in feminism, and it’s the angry, brash feminism we need now. Collecting over seventy-five manifestos from around the world, Burn It Down! is a rallying cry and a call to action. This landmark collection, spanning three centuries and four waves of feminist activism and writing, is a testament to what is possible when women are driven to the edge.

Do a good deed this year and introduce someone to this classic work of twentieth-century thought! Adorno's literary and cultural masterpiece is a classic Verso text: not to be missed!

To mark 50 years of radical publishing, our COMRADE canvas bag. Perfect for the comrade in your life!

An innovative rethinking of labour and machines, leaping from textile mills to algorithms, from existentially threatened knife cutters of rural Germany to surveillance-evading truckers driving across the continental United States. Mueller argues that the future stability and empowerment of working-class movements will depend on subverting these technologies and preventing their spread wherever possible. This book is a brilliant and fascinating history of work and resistance, perfect for anyone who hates their job but wants to look ahead at a future of possible change.

An exemplary work of political, economic, and historical analysis by Walter Rodney, powerfully introduced by Angela Davis. A landmark book that should be on every shelf!

What is wrong with capitalism, and how can we change it? Erik Olin Wright has distilled decades of work into this concise and tightly argued manifesto: analyzing the varieties of anticapitalism, assessing different strategic approaches, and laying the foundations for a society dedicated to human flourishing. Perfect for the anti-capitalist in your life!

A classic work of history, now republished in this new edition. Another one of our unmissable Marxist political works!

A sweeping account of imprisonment—in time, in language, and in a divided country—from Korea’s most acclaimed novelist.

One of our most vital and incisive writers on literature, feminism, and knowing one’s self.

The world-famous work on the origins and development of nationalism. Cited more often than any other single English-language work in the human sciences, it is read around the world in more than thirty translations: the perfect gift for any student. 

Further Reading

40% off all our books! See more here

2021 End of Year Highlights

Radical Futures: books to help us re-imagine new futures

The Year in 10 Books: we pick 10 unmissable books from this year

COP26: a radical climate reading list

Abolition is the only solution: a reading list for breaking police power

I Do Not Dream of Labour: books that imagine a different working world

Related Books